Computers and Technology

Ethernet Cables And It’s Variety Of Categories You Should Know

It was in 1973 when Xerox PARC researcher Bob Metcalfe developed a high-speed networking system. It was named ethernet that allowed the computer workstations, servers, and other printers to share the data and resources. The development, commonly ethernet cable cat 8 that connected the devices in the household together, continues to do so even after years.

Moreover, the ethernet cable has become more advanced; one can take ethernet cable cat 8 as an example. Currently, the ethernet cable is able to connect hundreds of millions of devices residential as well as commercially. Hence, in this article, we will discuss the detergent cable types and some basics about them.

Factors That Decides Which Cable You Need To Buy:

By knowing the features of the cables, you will be able to find the right cables for you.


The speed of the cable refers to the data the cable can transmit per second. Hence, 100 maps refer to the cable’s ability to transmit up to 100 million bits of data in a second.

In a commercial network, the speed is dictated by the equipment you are connecting to. So, in the home, you can choose a cable that will support the internet connection speed. You can rely on the category of the cable to determine the speed of the cable.


Most of the ethernet cables are shielded to protect the cable’s conductor from electromagnetic interference. These interferences are caused by the large machinery, power lines, and fluorescent lighting. The shielding is also an essential element bag that prevents the parallel conductors from damaging the cable jacket.


The maximum length of the ethernet cable is about 295 feet. Moreover, the good quality cables with the ability of shielding and thicker conductors will reach further. Another you may need to include some other factors for some twists and turns.


The cables from Ibraonline have rated fire safety. However, if you plan to have the cable running through floors or between floors, you must choose the CMR or CMP variations.

Different Ethernet Cable Categories:

The “Cat” in Cat7, Cat8, and others stands for “Category.” Thus, these network cables are divided into categories based mainly on bandwidth. Moreover, there are other points, such as maximum data rate and shielding, that have created a demarcating point.


It was the most common form of wiring that was used for telephone systems in homes and offices.


The category 2 cable is capable of voice and data communication. It was also primarily used during the 1980s for the IBM Token Ring networks.


It was first introduced in the early 1990s; the category 3 cable generally used to have four twisted pairs. It is still found in older buildings, although the data rate for this cable is low for the contemporary era.


Similar to Cat 2, this cable is found in older buildings as well. However, the data rate is 16mbps.


This was introduced in 1995. Then, cat 5 had a data rate of 100mbps. Moreover, it could distribute data, video, and telephony signals up to 100 meters.


Compared to cat 5, this cable is known for providing better bandwidth, and it can transfer data rates up to 1 Gbps over 100 meters.


cat 7 ethernet cable is a standard developed cable. There are many refined versions of cat 7 available. Moreover, it can emit 50 Gbps speed over 50 meters, 100 Gbps over 15 meters.


This has a bandwidth of up to 2GHz that can be spent over 30meters with a data rate of up to 40 Gbps.

Ending note:

No matter which cable you want to buy, be it cat 7 ethernet cable or the variation of cat 8, after knowing the specifications of the cable, you can purchase it without issues.

Related Articles

Back to top button